What are the penalties for underage possession of alcohol?

Underage possession of alcohol is a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, the court may order you to pay a minimum mandatory fine of $500.00 or perform a mandatory minimum of fifty hours community service. The court also shall suspend your license to drive in Virginia if you are 18 years or older for at least six months, but no longer …

What is the minimum drinking age?

You must be 21 to purchase or possess any alcoholic beverage, including beer, wine, or liquor. In Virginia, if you have any alcohol in your system, you are deemed to be in possession of alcohol even though you no longer have a beverage container in your possession.

Can someone under 21 buy alcohol with parental consent?

No. Parents cannot legally authorize an underage child to buy alcoholic beverages of any type. It is against the law for anyone to sell alcohol to, make alcohol available to, or purchase alcohol for a person under 21.