Is driving a right?

“Driving is not a right, it’s a privilege in Virginia.” Summed up, that means you have to have a valid license to drive, and your license can be revoked or suspended for certain infractions or criminal convictions.

Do I have to have car insurance?

Here is how it works in Virginia: if you own a car, you have to register your car and provide the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with proof of insurance or the payment of $500 per year as the annual uninsured motor vehicle fee. You may, however, opt to satisfy DMV with proof of a security bond and receive a …

What happens if I get too many traffic tickets?

The more traffic convictions you get, the stiffer the penalties. Certain “traffic tickets” call for the court to suspend your license. In Virginia, driving violations are rated according to points. When you are convicted of certain violations, your driving record is “pinged” (penalized) with points assigned to those violations. With an accumulation of points your driver’s license can be suspended. …

Can I hang stuff from my rear view mirror?

No. Not only is it against the law to hang anything decorative from the rear view mirror of a motor vehicle, including graduation tassels, air fresheners, flags, and ornaments, it is even against the law to hang a handicap/parking permit sign from your rear view mirror while driving. You are inviting the police to stop your vehicle by having something …

Can I smoke in the car while someone else pumps gas?

No. Any person who smokes or uses an open flame within twenty feet of a fuel pump is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor, punishable up to a $500 fine. Anyone who causes a fire or explosion as a result of smoking at the pump can be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor.

What about texting while driving?

Don’t even think about it. Texting and driving could easily lead to you or someone else being killed. Using a phone or tablet or any other device is really dangerous. It is unlawful to operate a moving motor vehicle while using any hand-held personal communications device to text or read any e-mail or text message. There is a $125 fine for …

Do I have to wear a seat belt?

The short answer is “Yes.” The long answer is that the law in Virginia requires all persons 16 years or older occupying the front seat of a motor vehicle to wear their seat belts while the vehicle is in motion. There are exceptions for those with medical problems (you must have a signed statement by a doctor) and for certain …

How do I become an organ donor?

You can register as an organ donor when you apply for a new driver’s license or renew your existing license. You can also contact DMV at any other time about the process and/or indicate same in some form of end of life directive/document.

What should I do if I am involved in an accident?

If you are involved in an accident resulting in injury or property damage, you must immediately stop as close to the scene of the accident as possible, without obstructing traffic, and report your name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number to the police and to the other people involved in the accident. Further, you must provide reasonable assistance …