Every year the General Assembly meets to review and pass new laws. As a citizen, it is your responsibility to be informed on new laws. Virginia’s Legislative Information System is a great place to see what laws are being introduced and which of them pass. Another helpful resource is the Virginia Division of Legislative Services’ publication In Due Course where you’ll find things like the following (effective July 1, 2021):
HB 2159. Release of balloon prohibited; civil penalty. The law prohibits any individual 16 years of age or older or other person, including a corporation, from intentionally releasing, discarding, or causing to be released or discarded any nonbiodegradable balloon outdoors and provides that any person convicted of such violation is liable for a civil penalty of $25 per balloon, to be paid into the Game Protection Fund. The law provides that if a person under the age of 16 releases a balloon at the instruction of an adult, the adult shall be liable for the civil penalty. Current law prohibits a person from knowingly releasing 50 or more such balloons within an hour and sets the civil penalty at $5 per balloon, with the proceeds deposited into the Lifetime Hunting and Fishing Endowment Fund.